School of Theology

Within the House of Formation of the Community of Saint Martin, the intellectual aspect of the formation is provided by the School of Theology, affiliated to the Pontifical Laterean University in Rome since March 2007. The majority of the teaching staff is made of priests from the Community. Outside teachers are regularly invited to give classes or conferences as well.

The formation is intended to be faithful to the directives of the Church, particularly to the decree of the Second Vatican Council concerning the priestly formation, Optatam Totius. In accordance with the recommendations of this decree, Philosophy and Theology are taught with “Saint Thomas Aquinas as master” (16).

During the two three years, the Cycle of Philosophy, the seminarian acquires solid philosophy knowledge, both secular and sacred, in Metaphysics, Anthropology, Exegeses, Ancient Languages, Fundamental Theology, Moral Theology, Holy History, History of the Church, etc. At the end of the two years, the seminarian is sent out in a parish for a one year internship.

The second cycle, known as Cycle of Theology, allows each seminarian to enter more deeply into the subjects of Sacred Doctrine and learn about its details (dogmatic, moral, spiritual, sacramental) as well as Holy Scripture. The Cycle of Theology is crowned by the obtaining of a Bachelor of Theology at the end of the last academic year, before the diaconate.

Finally, the permanent formation has to be at the heart of the priest’s mission whose life is consecrated to loving God and his children. Some priests may come back to the School of Theology in order to attend specific classes that they may want to review or go further into. Others are sent for a study mission to the Pontifical Laterean University in Rome, the Catholic Institute of Paris, to the Collège des Bernardins or to another university or institute in order to perfect their knowledge in a particular topic of Philosophy or Theology.


The School of Theology publishes a theological review, Charitas, which gives an account of the research work of its professors and of some students.

Pontifical Laterean University

The School of Theology is afiliated to the Faculty of Theology of the Pontifical Laterean University. Founded in 1773 by Clement XIV, it is traditionally considered as the “Pope’s University”. At the end of the formation at the School of Theology, the Pontifical Lateran University gives the Baccalaureate in Sacred Theology.